May 6, Sex Crimes. The age of consent here in Indiana is As you can see, the penalties for being convicted of violating the age of consent laws are indeed stiff. This could devastate your life even more. Indiana law requires you to remain on the list for at least 10 years. Because the sex offender database is searchable and visible to just about anyone, it can absolutely wreck your personal and professional life.
Age of Consent Laws in Indiana
Age of Consent Laws in Indiana | Suhre & Associates, LLC
Federal child labor laws state that the minimum age to work is 14, with some exceptions. However, child labor laws in each state may also indicate the minimum age to work and which permits are needed. When there is a conflict between federal and state laws, the more restrictive law will apply. Before seeking out jobs for teens , review the rules and restrictions surrounding minor labor laws. The following overview gives the requirements for children to work in the state of Indiana. For specific laws and rules in your state, visit your state's labor website. Indiana doesn't require a work permit employment certificate for certain types of jobs or situations.
Indiana raises minimum age to marry
If you're concerned about breaking laws on underage dating, the first thing to know is that no such laws exist. However, you should be aware of statutory rape laws if you're dating someone younger than the legal age of consent in your state. Such laws are there to punish adults who take sexual advantage of minors. If your date is below the legal age of consent, you could be charged with statutory rape, even if the sex is consensual.
I am turning 19 in a statutory and she'll be 17 in February as well. State laws dating all different, but this is the one for yours. If the younger one is more than 3 years younger then it's statutory rape, but since you two are only just over two years difference, then you are set so no need to worry. There is no law consent dating. There are only laws against sexual contact.